Hey You! Stop Cryin, I Can’t Hear The TV!

20 But the rest of mankind, who were not killed by these plagues, did not repent of the works of their hands, that they should not worship demons, and idols of gold, silver, brass, stone, and wood, which can neither see nor hear nor walk. 21 And they did not repent of their murders or their sorceries or their sexual immorality or their thefts. (Rev 9:20-21, NKJV)

8 Then the fourth angel poured out his bowl on the sun, and power was given to him to scorch men with fire. 9 And men were scorched with great heat, and they blasphemed the name of God who has power over these plagues; and they did not repent and give Him glory. 10 Then the fifth angel poured out his bowl on the throne of the beast, and his kingdom became full of darkness; and they gnawed their tongues because of the pain. 11 They blasphemed the God of heaven because of their pains and their sores, and did not repent of their deeds. (Rev 16:8-11 NKJV)

As I read this article on CNN this morning I couldn’t help think of these verses in Revelation above.

It’s an article talking about the worries that the supplies of the new Apple iPad will begin to slow due to Japan not being able to supply enough flash memory as a result of the earthquake and tsunami. My intent on posting these scripture verses from Revelation is not to suggest that God punished Japan. I only can say through scripture what God’s will is and He didn’t choose to tell us what is happening in japan.

Nevertheless, as I read the article I couldn’t help but get the picture of a world that, in the middle of one of the more tragic events in recent history our main concern is how our life’s pleasures will be interrupted. The bible clearly says that as we move more toward the return of Christ, the heavens and earth will be shaken. That earthquakes will increase and people will be perplexed by the tossing of the seas. Still in the midst of a cosmic upheaval, not only will people worry more about their stupid iPad supply, but they’ll literally curse God because of it.

The love of many will grow cold.

I have spent a lifetime chasing after my lusts. The money I’ve spent on things I felt like I needed is disgusting. I’ve been far from a faithful steward of God’s money and to be honest, I fear the account I’ll someday give.

I want an iPad. It’s a lust I deal with daily. I’m not saying having one is a sin, yet having one right now is not in God’s plan for me. Yet I struggle with lusts of this sort all the time. The wants and desires of stuff. I guess even in the back of my heart somewhere I get a little angry at God when I can’t have the stuff I want.

Sometimes it takes a tsunami or a great shaking in our own lives to get us to repent. To Get us to look up instead of look to our banks. To get us to realize that if we have food, shelter, and clothing we’re as blessed as the Bible ever promised we will be, regardless of what Benny Hinn or Marcus Lamb claims.

May I never worry more about what this tragedy in Japan will do to my pleasures than what it has done to the thousands who never had a change to hear the Gospel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, World Events

Leave a Reply

