If I Say It, It Must Be True

I was a Facebook resistor for a long time. Even after I noticed we weren’t getting e-mail communication any longer from our friends and family because they had all gone over to Facebook, I remained the curmudgeon that I am and refused Facebook. Finally I caved and joined.

After nearly a year on Facebook, I deleted my account. For reasons reserved for another post in the future, it was exactly what I had feared it would be. I began to lose respect for people I had loved and respected for a long time. I’m basically a “glass-half-empty” sort of guy anyway and the last thing I needed was fuel to a fire I have to battle daily.

Well, as I’ve stated before, my wife and I left our church about a year ago. The reasons are numerous and complicated. I hope to someday chronicle our journey through the church, but that’s for a later date. The Lord has led us out of some of the charismatic beliefs we embraced to more of a trust in His sovereign grace. A life of true faith in Him and less of a “faith” in ourselves.

Nevertheless, some of the people we attended our former church with are still a part of my wife’s Facebook community, and as people tend to do at the start of a new year, many people were posting words of encouragement and blessing for the new year.

The following Facebook post was one posted by the regional leader of a nationally known deliverance ministry who also happens to attend our former church. She was a very influential leader in the church and MANY hung on her words, especially the women. This post was a typical example of what was taught and believed by so many in our former church. That our words have an actual force behind them and that when we speak that a kind of “force” is enacted.

Negative words = negative force, consequences, sickness, even death. But positive words = blessings, goodness, faith, power.

Here is the post:

My Blessing for You in 2011:
May peace break into your home and may thieves come to steal your debts.
May the pockets of your jeans become a magnet for $100 bills.
May love stick to your face like Vaseline and may laughter assault your lips.
May happiness slap you across the face and may your tears be that of joy…..
May the problems you had forget your home address.
May 2011 be the best year of your life (so far)!
For the sake of brevity, I’m going to forego posting of the responses, but in general response after response was “I receive that!” . Which only goes to further prove the belief that our words have creative or destructive power in the supernatural realm.
 
These people (myself was once included in this list, but praise God, not now) have come to believe that if they say “I receive that”, that it’s just like holding up a big catchers mitt and catching the blessing she sent forth like a missile. Conversely, if they don’t repeat “I receive that”, then they might just miss out on all that God has for them. God just might overlook them.
 
Sad…and it’s producing so much bondage and a false image of a good and loving God.
 
Nevertheless, through a series of events which I hope to someday document for the purpose of helping others, God led me out of this type of nonsense and into a better understanding of His sovereign grace.
 
God loves us so much He wants to cleanse us and rid us of this world’s filth. Sometimes a “bad” event in our life is His blessing. Sometimes it’s discipline. Sometimes a “blessing” is a blessing. Sometimes it’s letting us have our way so we can fall flat on our faces. Either way He is using it to grow us more into the image of Jesus Christ. 
 
BUT, this comes only through an understanding of His written word and a heart that desires to fully obey it. In other words, if we are constantly under the assumption that the bad stuff we see is an attack from the devil and the good stuff we see is always a blessing from God, we’ll constantly be in the mode of feeding our flesh and resisting Gods sovereign hand in conforming us to His will.
 
And, in a nutshell, that’s why we left.
 
Oh, be careful little tongue what you say……..You just might get it.
 
Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Church, Churchianity, personal

Leave a Reply

