Christianity with my Flapjacks

As I was cooking some of my chocolate chip pancakes for the kids this morning, I opened up the paper and laid it out on the counter and flipped through it in between my flipping of the pancakes on the griddle. As I did this, I came upon the Religion section in my local paper and read the two articles I’ve shown photographs here in this post.

A couple of years ago an elderly woman at the previous church I attended asked me if I had seen a particular televangelist’s show on a “Christian” network the previous evening.  I told her that I watched very little “Christian” TV because I felt like those pretenders did more to damage Christianity than any of the secular TV shows out there. She said “Well, I don’t know about that!” and walked off in a huff.

I do know about that, though. Whether we want to admit it or not, every time we identify ourselves as a Christian to the world, we are judged by what the world sees on Christian TV.

Through “Christian” television and many of the megachurches that are behaving in similar manner to the televangelists, the world has come to believe we are a bunch of sexually perverted, money-grubbing clowns.

There is literally an entire generation growing up in churches that just doesn’t know what the Gospel is….oh, they proclaim it means the “good news”, but they aren’t preaching just what the good news is.

The church shown in the first photograph above are having what is called “Blue Christmas” services. People can come and light candles, sing hymns, and write their thoughts on a banner that will be the “center of their worship”….Funny, I thought Jesus was to be the center of our worship…not our problems.

The churches in the second photograph aim to draw people to the Christmas services with cool technology. I guess the thought is that if we have the coolest sound, lights, music, and video displays that people will FINALLY bow before their Savior Jesus and repent…..funny thing is, they aren’t being told that repentance is necessary.

The Gospel…that all important message of eternal life is being left out. It hurts me that the lifelong church attending kids that are my daughter Emily’s age around 16 years old have never heard the gospel. Never.

Oh, they’ve heard that Jesus loves them, that Jesus can help them with their problems, that he can help them in school and similar “slogans”…..but never the gospel.

You see, the bible says in Romans 1:16:

For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew, then to the Gentile.

The gospel is what saves. No gospel, no salvation.

All of the other stuff is just fluff designed to inflate the egos of men, for pastors to get “attaboys” from the congregation, and worst of all, to fill the pews for the purposes of having “bragging rights” to your fellow ministers at the local “ministerial alliance” meeting.

I’m afraid the “foxes are watching the henhouse”, folks, and I truly believe it’s time to turn off the Christian television and dust off that bible…..you might just be in for a shock to see what’s really in there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Church, Church Marketing, Churchianity, Pastors, Televangelists

Leave a Reply

